Session 2019/2020

Dates of Term should be read in conjunction with the University’s residency requirements for full-time students as set out in section 3.1 of Student Rules and Regulation.

Formal, timetabled classes will not take place during vacation periods, but fieldwork, work experience placements and other activities may do.

Session 2019/2020

Event

Date

Michaelmas Term (1)

Monday 23/09/2019 – Saturday 14/12/2019 (12 weeks)

Welcome/Induction/Registration

Monday 23/09/2019 – Friday 27/09/2019 (1 week)

Semester 1 Teaching

Monday 30/09/2019 – Saturday 14/12/2019 (11 weeks)

Christmas Vacation

Monday 16/12/2019 – Saturday 04/01/2020 (3 weeks)

Vacation period for full-time undergraduate and postgraduate taught students, and for students on the International Foundation Programme.

Lent Term (2)

Monday 06/01/2020 – Saturday 28/03/2020 (12 weeks)

Semester 1 Examinations

Wednesday 08/01/2020 – Tuesday 21/01/2020 (2 weeks)

Induction/Preparation for Semester 2

Wednesday 22/01/2020 – Saturday 25/01/2020 (4 days)

Semester 2 Teaching

Monday 27/01/2020 – Saturday 28/03/2020 (9 weeks)

Easter Vacation

Monday 30/03/2020 – Saturday 18/04/2020 (3 weeks)

Vacation period for full-time undergraduate and postgraduate taught students, and for students on the International Foundation Programme.

Easter Term  (3)

Monday 20/04/2020 – Saturday 30/05/2020 (6 weeks)

Semester 2 teaching

Monday 20/04/2020 – Saturday 02/05/2020 (2 weeks)

Reading/Revision Week

Monday 04/05/2020 – Saturday 09/05/2020 (1 week)

Semester 2 Examinations

Monday 11/05/2020 – Saturday 30/05/2020 (3 weeks)

Supplementary Examinations

Monday 17 August -  Thursday 27 August 2020

The period from Monday 01/06/2020 to the beginning of the 2020-21 Session is a vacation period for full-time undergraduate students and for students on the International Foundation Programme. Students should however ensure that they are available to take resit exams in Aberystwyth during the August supplementary examination period. Note that full-time postgraduate taught students will continue to pursue their studies during this period.

Full-time postgraduate research students are required to be resident in Aberystwyth for 44 weeks a year, with the remaining 8 weeks to be taken as conditional leave. The timing of postgraduate research leave will be determined in discussion between student and supervisor, but does not need to coincide with the University vacation periods which are published in the dates of term. 

Please note that Induction and Preparation periods at the beginning of semester 1 and 2 are integral parts of the academic year. Students are expected to be resident in Aberystwyth during these periods and to participate in activities as arranged by the University and by academic departments.