Senate Membership

For the 2017 - 2018 academic year, the membership of Senate is as follows:



Professor Elizabeth T Treasure PhD BDS FRACDS FDSRCS FFPH

Pro Vice-Chancellors

Ms Rebecca Davies BLib (until 31.12.2020)
Professor John Grattan BA MSc PhD (until 31.07.2018)
Dr Rhodri Llwyd Morgan BA, MA, PhD (until 31.08.2018)
Professor Chris Thomas BSc PhD (until 31.07.2018)

Institute Directors

Professor Judy Broady-Preston - Institute of Professional Development
Professor Jo Crotty - Institute of Business and Law
Professor Neil Glasser - Institute of Geography, History, International Politics and Psychology
Professor Mike Gooding - Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences
Professor Qiang Shen - Institute of Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science
Professor Tim Woods - Institute of Arts and Humanities

Chair of Aberystwyth University Branch of Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol

Dr Elin Royles

Head of Graduate School

Professor Reyer Zwiggelaar


Academic Departmental Representatives

Professor Robert Meyrick, Art
Dr Hazel Davey, IBERS
Dr Gordon Allison, IBERS
Mr Nigel Hardy, Computer Science
Professor Malcolm Thomas, SELL
Dr Guy Baron, Modern Languages
Professor Paul Brewer, IGES
Professor Martyn Powell, History & Welsh History
Dr Maria Plotnikova, Business
Professor Richard Beardsworth, International Politics
Dr Ola Olusanya, Law
Dr Gwion Evans, Mathematics
Dr Rachel Rahman, Psychology
Dr Anwen Jones, Theatre, Film and Television Studies
Dr Simon Rodway, Welsh
Dr Christopher Finlayson, Physics
Dr Louise Marshall, English and Creative Writing
Mrs Anne Uruska, Institute of Professional Development

Student Members (a pool of five, of which three can attend each meeting)

Ms Emma Beenham, Academic Affairs Officer
Mr Brice Wight, Union Development Officer
Mr Gwion Llwyd Williams, UMCA President

Heads of Service Departments

Mr Tim Davies, Information Services
Ms Louise Jagger, Development and Alumni Relations



To assist members with their work on Aberystwyth University’s Senate, the University Secretary has produced a handbook brininging together key information from a number of sources. This document is continually updated as necessary, with the latest version always available via this web page.