Aberystwyth University has a number of committees which considers matters on behalf of the governing bodies – some of which report directly to Council, others directly to Senate, and the remainder jointly to both Council and Senate.

The following chart presents Aberystwyth University’s committee structure and clarifies the relationships between each tier:

Governance Committee (Reporting) Chart

Academic Committee Structure


Further details on each of these committees – including membership and the terms of reference – can be obtained by following the relevant links.

Council sub-committees

Audit, Risk and Assurance Committee
Governance and Compliance Committee
Investments Committee
Redundancy Committee
Remuneration Committee
Resources and Performance Committee

Senate sub-committees

Senate Exam Board
Academic Board
Academic Development and Planning Committee
Academic Management Committee (AUM)
International and Collaborative Provision Committee
Quality Assurance Committee
Recruitment and Marketing Committee
Research Degrees Committee
Student Support Committee