Information Services Student Focus Group

A student focus group organised by Information Services which gathers a range of students together throughout the academic year to discuss current and potential new services. Students are recruited through direct communications, via freshers fayre stands and our annual suggestion harvests and User Surveys.

Dates and topics of discussion for this academic year are:

  • University Website and User Testing 12-1pm Wed 4 Oct 2017 (location to be confirmed)
  • Physics Students Library Focus Group 12-1pm Wed 25 Oct 2017 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Aspire Reading Lists 12-1pm Wed 08 Nov 2017 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Information Skills Teaching/Training Awareness and Impact 12-1pm Wed 22 Nov 2017 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Do You Know about the More Books Scheme 12-1pm Wed 6 Dec 2017 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Hugh Owen Library Level D Refurbishment and Whole Library Requirements 12-1pm Wed 07 Feb 2018 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Primo Library Catalogue 12-1pm Wed 21 Feb 2018 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Learning Analytics 12-1pm Wed 7 March 2018 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Fines, Loan Periods and Auto Renewals 12-1pm Wed 21 March 2018 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Postgraduate or Academic Staff Use of Library 12-1pm Wed 4 Apr 2018 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)
  • Customer Service Excellence and Information Services 12-1pm Wed 25 Apr 2018 (location E-Learning Training Room (E3) Hugh Owen Library)

If you are interested in taking part in an Information Services focus group contact is-focus@aber.ac.uk.

All students taking part in a focus group will be provided with refreshments as well as £10 Aber Card credit for each session they attend. Upon request, we will write a letter to confirm your involvement, should you wish to include this in a portfolio or CV.

Previous focus group sessions covered the following topics:

  • MyAber (Mobile Application) Wed 26 Oct 2016
  • Information Skills Teaching/ Training Awareness and Impact Wed 9 Nov 2016
  • International Politics Support and Resource Requirement from Information Services Wed 23 Nov 2016
  • Aspire Reading Lists Wed 7 Dec 2016
  • MEQ Wed 14 Dec 2016
  • Primo Library Catalogue Wed 8 Feb 2017 
  • Welsh Medium Support from Information Services Wed 22 Feb 2017
  • Hugh Owen Level D Refurbishment Wed 8 Mar 2017
  • Hugh Owen Library Spaces Wed 22 Mar 2017
  • Customer Service Excellence and Information Services Wed 5 Apr 2017