Record number of nominations in Student Led Teaching Awards

21 March 2015

Department of Geography and Earth Sciences, winners of the Department of the Year Award 2014
Department of Geography and Earth Sciences, winners of the Department of the Year Award 2014

Aberystwyth University students have turned out in record numbers to submit nominations for the fourth annual Student Led Teaching Awards.

The Awards, coordinated by Aberystwyth University Students’ Union and supported by the University, invite students to recognise the contribution of fellow student representatives and University staff by nominating individuals or departments for one of ten awards.

At close of nominations, at 5pm on Friday 20th March, a total of  1,113 nominations were received.

Commenting on the success of the Awards, Grace Burton, Education Officer at the Students’ Union, said: “We at the Students’ Union have been overwhelmed by the fantastic response to this year’s Awards. It’s heartwarming to see students recognising the excellent staff who make the time students spend with us at Aberystwyth great. Thank you to everyone who took the time to write a nomination; I’m really looking forward to reading them all.

“The standard this year has been exceptionally high and the judging panel will have a difficult task on their hands picking only ten winners. I can’t wait to celebrate the successes of colleagues on the night.”

Professor John Grattan, Pro Vice-Chancellor for International and Student Experience, commented: “The level of support for our excellent student representatives and staff is truly amazing. We’re extremely grateful to the Students’ Union for coordinating what has become one of the highlights in the University’s calendar, and an opportunity to recognise the efforts of colleagues, by those who matter the most.

“Congratulations to the Students’ Union team for building on the successes of the past awards, and for almost tripling the level of nominations received in 2014, and an increase of over a thousand on the level received in the first year. This is a true mark of how students value the teaching and support staff at Aber, and the excellent student experience available.”

The nominations will now be judged by a panel of staff and students, with a winner and highly commended individuals chosen for each category.

Award categories include:

  • Outstanding Teaching Award;
  • Exceptional Contribution to University Life;
  • Support Staff of the Year;
  • Award for Excellence in Welsh-Medium Education;
  • Postgraduate Teacher Award;
  • New Staff Member of the Year;
  • Personal Tutor of the Year;
  • Supervisor of the Year;
  • Student Representative of the Year;
  • Department of the Year.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Friday 24th April.



Back to the top


Alwena Hughes Moakes

Eleri Wyn Roberts