AHRC Scholarships & PhD Study

21 November 2017

The Department of Film and Television Studies at Aberystwyth University is pleased to invite applications for PhD scholarships, through its involvement in the AHRC South West and Wales Doctoral Training Partnership (SWW DTP). The partnership brings together a Consortium of 8 universities, extended by a network of prestigious international, national and regional organisations representing the arts, heritage, media and government sectors. 

Our Department and the University have strong links with a range of these organisations, in particular: the National Library of Wales (based at Aberystwyth, and housing the Arts Council of Wales Archives, the Brith Gof archives, the National Sound and Screen Archive of Wales, and the ITV Wales and West Film and Video archive, among other important collections), and BBC Drama (Cardiff). We welcome applications related to any of our research specialisms (listed below). Scholarships are available to applicants living in the UK and the European Union, and projects will need to be supervised by relevant academic staff at two of the Universities in the consortium. 

The Department's Environment for Doctoral Study

The department has a substantial number of experienced, research-active PhD supervisors, able to supervise projects in both the English and Welsh Medium across theatre and drama, scenography, performance studies, media and communication, film and television, and spanning historical and archival work, textual analysis, reception research, policy research and practice as research. We offer supervision and research training in both English and Welsh.

See our staff pages for further details: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/tfts/staff-profiles/listing/group/academic-and-technical-staff as well as our current PhD student projects page: https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/tfts/study-with-us/postgrad/phd/phd-students/

How to Apply

Applications for both funding and PhD place may be submitted via the AHRC SWW DTP website from 27th November 2017 until the final deadline of 11th January 2018. Applicants will be required to submit an application form with a research proposal and personal statement.  For further information, please visit the AHRC SWW DTP website http://www.sww-ahdtp.ac.uk/apply-for-a-studentship/

Prospective applicants are also strongly encouraged to contact Dr Kate Egan, Departmental Postgraduate Research Coordinator, Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies, Aberystwyth University (email: kte@aber.ac.uk), for further information. 

Back to the top