The role of the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol Branch Committee is to supervise and develop academic provision through the medium of Welsh at Aberystwyth University.  The Committee annually monitors the Welsh medium provision, and reports to the University’s planning bodies, and through them, to the University Council about matters associated with planning and Welsh medium resources.  The Branch is chaired by a member of the University’s academic staff who teaches through the medium of Welsh.

Committee members

  • Every member of university staff that teaches through the medium of Welsh, including staff funded by the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol’s Academic Staffing Scheme;
  • Academic related staff which support the Welsh medium teaching;
  • Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol Research Scholarship holders;
  • Student representatives including the UMCA President,

Chair: Dr Elin Royles
Vice-chair: Dr Sharon Huws
Secretary: Dr Tamsin Davies, Branch Officer

Meeting dates - 2016/17 Academic Year

5 October 2016 2:15pm Lolfa Fach, Pantycelyn
1 February 2017 2:15pm Lolfa Fach, Pantycelyn
3 May 2017 2:15pm Lolfa Fach, Pantycelyn

Branch Working Group

The Branch Working Group meets between Branch meetings to advise the chair and officers on policies.  The Working Group ensures that the finalised agenda for the Branch Committee enables strategic discussions, and that decisions can be implemented effectively and on time.

Chair: Dr Elin Royles
Secretary: Dr Mari Elin Jones


Dr Bleddyn O Huws Welsh Department
Elin Haf Gruffydd Jones TFTV
Prof Rhys Jones IGES
Prof Andrew Evans IMAPS
Dr Huw Lewis International Politics
Dr Iwan Owen IBERS
Dr Catrin Huws Law and Criminology