Aberystwyth University awarded Athena SWAN Bronze Award

What is Athena SWAN?

Drop in for Coffee, Cake and Cracking Ideas!

The Athena SWAN Charter is a recognition scheme for UK universities and their science, engineering and technology (SET) departments. It aims to advance the representation of women in science, technology, engineering, medicine and mathematics (STEMM).

Why does this matter?

The under-representation of women in science, particularly at more senior levels means that a wealth of talent and diversity of approach is missing from this discipline.

How does this affect Aberystwyth University?

Athena SWAN awards recognise and celebrate good practice in recruiting, retaining and promoting women in STEMM in higher education.

Aberystwyth University achieved the Athena SWAN Bronze Award in 2014, through it's continuing commitment to the advancement of the careers of women in Science, Education, and Technology in higher education.

Below is a copy of the 2014 application:

Athena SWAN Bronze Award Application (PDF)

Self Assessment Team:

In preparation for our 2017 application, the Self Assessment Team has been meeting regularly over the last 3 years; first, as an 'implementation' group and later as a review and Action Plan group. 

NameJob Role/DepartmentEmail
Jackie Sayce IGHPP Institute Manager jqs
Emyr Phillips IBERS Institute Manager emp24
Dave Smith IMPACS Institute Manager dhs
Annette Davies IEGPD Institute Manager amd
Kath Williams IAH Institute Manager ktw
Myra Wilson Lecturer, Computer Science mxw
Christine Zarges Lecturer, Computer Science chz8
Allen Foster Reader, Information Studies aef
Joanne Hiatt Careers Consultant jeb
Dominika Komaniecka Portfolio Manager for Learning & Teaching Research, IBL ddk
Kim Knowles Lecturer, TFTS kik2
Mike Gooding IBERS Director mig21
Mariecia Fraser Reader, IBERS mdf
Nerys Fuller Love Reader, Business School nnf
Rebecca Davies Pro Vice-Chancellor, Chief Operating Officer rkd
Ruth Fowler HR Communications & Equalities Officer ruf
Debra Croft Director of CWPESI dec
Heather Hinkin Deputy Director, HR heh
John Harrington Assistant Director, Student Support Services oih
Becky Kularatne HR Metrics and Workforce Planning Manager rlk
Esther Prytherch Head of Communications and Public Affairs ejp14
Molly Longdon Student's Union Welfare Officer eawstaff
Elizabeth Kensler Customer Services Manager, IS eak
Emma Williams Director, AQRO elw40
Sarah Taylor Head of Strategic Development, Planning srt
Angharad Shaw Lecturer, Computer Science ais
Mitchell Parker Research Ethics & Integrity Officer, RB&I mip32
Steve Walsh Head of Data Analysis & Reporting, Planning stw16
Rhys Jones Head of Department, Geography raj
Judith Shepherd Portfolio Manager (Learning & Teaching, Undergraduate & Postgraduate), IGHPP jqr


Athena Swan Contacts:


Follow @AUAthenaSWAN on twitter