Governance Unit

Based within the Planning and Governance department, the University Secretary and the Governance Unit support the University’s main committees and provides advice to members on their responsibilities.

This involves providing day-to-day support for the Independent Members on Aberystwyth University’s Council (the University Secretary operates as Clerk to the Council) and serving as a link between independent members and the University itself.

As Clerk to Council, the University Secretary also receives correspondence on behalf of independent members and liaises with them accordingly to arrange any response.

Geraint Pugh, the University Secretary, can be contacted at the following address:

Geraint Pugh
University Secretary
Planning and Governance
Aberystwyth University
Visualisation Centre
Penglais Campus
SY23 3BF

01970 62 2114

He is assisted on a part-time basis by Helen Wyn Davies.

Committee Secretariat

While the University Secretary is responsible for servicing the main governance committees (including Council, Senate, and Finance and Strategy Committee), other experienced individuals from other departments at Aberystwyth University clerk a number of other sub-committees.

Please consult the terms of reference and membership of the various sub-committees to identify the relevant clerk.