Funding Opportunities for International students on a Taught programme

International (non-EU) students commencing a Taught programme can be supported through University schemes or external schemes such as those listed below. 

Please click on the funding title for a brief description of the scheme. Our Funding & Scholarship Calculator is also available to provide information on possible funding opportunities and is updated on a regular basis.


British Council

International students are strongly encouraged to approach the British Council in their home countries at the earliest date possible to enquire about assistance.  In addition, most British Council offices will have a library of resources that you can use to find out about independent charities and trusts that may have scholarships to award in your chosen field of study.

For further information visit the British Council website

Chevening Scholarships

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. The Scholarships are awarded to outstanding scholars with leadership potential. Awards are typically for a one-year Master’s degree, in any subject and at any of the UK’s leading universities.

For information on applying for a Chevening Scholarship, please see

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme (CSSS)

(Students from developing Commonwealth countries only)

The University participates in the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme which provides funding for a full-time taught Masters student. The award is intended to assist a student from a developing Commonwealth country who has the requisite academic background but cannot afford the tuition fee and is not eligible for any other British Government award. The award covers tuition fees, the costs of travel to and from the UK and provides a living allowance.  Candidates will have to submit an application for the scholarship via the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's EAS system. 

Students interested in starting their Masters course in September 2017 who want to be considered for this scholarship should submit an application on the CSC's EAS system. The deadline is 17th March 2017. Please see the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's website. Only those individuals who have been nominated by their respective departments need to apply formally for a place on a relevant course using the How to apply. Applicants must have been offered a place for full-time study on a relevant course before we can finalise any selection by the University and forward our choice to the CSC. 

Please note that for the 2017 competition, the award will only be available for students following one of the relevant Masters courses with either the Department of Geography and Earth Sciences or the Institute of Biological, Environmental & Rural Sciences.

Relevant courses for 2017-2018 are:

  • MSc Livestock Science
  • MSc Environmental Management
  • MSc Environmental Change, Impact & Adaption
  • MSc Remote Sensing & GIS

Unfortunately, the following courses will be suspended for 2017-2018 and therefore applicants for these courses will not be considered. Applications can be transferred to other relevant courses. Please e-mail for furhter advice. 

  • MSc Environmental Monitoring & Analysis
  • MSc Remote Sensing & Computer Science
  • MSc Remote Sensing & the Living Environment 

Institute of Management, Law & Information Sci Scholarships

The Institute of Management, Law and Information Science (IMLIS) scholarship scheme for 2015 entry will provide 11 awards of £3,000 towards the tuition fees for non-EU full-time students with a minimum 2.i Honours degree (or equivalent) registered on taught Masters courses within the academic departments of Law & Criminology, Information Studies and Management & Business. The deadline for receipt of the generic application form for a place on the relevant course is 31st July 2015 but please note the limited number of awards. They are for self-financing students and cannot be held with other awards. Further details will be announced shortly.

International Postgraduate Excellence Scholarships (IPES)

International Postgraduate Excellence Scholarships (IPES) for 2019-2020

Up to 13 scholarships, each worth £5,000 towards tuition fees will be available for International (non-EU) students commencing full-time Taught Masters courses in September 2019.

The scholarships will be awarded for academic excellence (minimum of a UK 1st class honours degree or the equivalent award).

Separate application forms are not required in order to be considered for one of these awards. An application for a place on a taught Master's degree at Aberystwyth University must be received by 23rd August 2019.

Acceptance of an offer of an award, and payment of the £2000 course deposit, must be received within 2 weeks of being offered.

For further information, please see the regulations for the International Postgraduate Excellence Scholarships (IPES) 2019-2020.


Stafford and Grad Plus Federal Loan Programs

(For students from the USA only)

Please visit the US Federal Loans for relevant details.

US Marshall Scholarships

(Students from the USA only)

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom. At least forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at a UK institution in any field of study. Each scholarship is held for two years.

For further information visit:

Aberystwyth University - GREAT Scholarships 2019 - Malaysia

This year, in partnership with the British Council and the GREAT Britain Campaign, [university name] will be offering 2 scholarships to students in Malaysia applying for any of our Postgraduate Taught courses. 


This scholarship scheme is part of the “GREAT Scholarships 2019 - East Asia” campaign, which has been launched by the British Council together with 28 UK universities to support more students in East Asia to get access to the excellent UK higher education opportunities.

The total value of the scholarship scheme is nearly £1 million. This scholarship scheme will offer an exciting opportunity for East Asian students wishing to get financial support to pursue study on degree levels in the UK. Students can apply for courses in subjects including engineering, law, business, art and design, biosciences, IT and more, at the 28 institutions across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Please see the regulations below for further information.

  1. The scholarships will be awarded for academic excellence (Bachelor degree with minimum 2nd class upper division)
  2. In order to be considered for one of these awards, an application for a place on a taught Masters degree at Aberystwyth University must be received by 30th June 2019. In addition, Acceptance of an offer of an award must be received within 2 weeks of being offered.
  3. Separate scholarship application forms are not required, but applicants need to make sure that they write ‘I apply for the GREAT scholarship’ on their application form.

Please note that applicants should be passport holders of Malaysia.

 For more information on the GREAT Scholarships 2019, please visit the British Council’s country website in your country.