International Exchange Programme

The international exchange programme provides a unique opportunity for students to expand their academic and social horizons by spending a part of their university experience abroad.  Students taking part in the exchange programme take modules which are relevant to their degree scheme, with the marks achieved counting toward their degree classification.  Students going on exchange do so for one semester during their second year, except for students taking a joint degree with a European language, who spend an entire year abroad. 

The Department of International Politics has links with carefully selected universities in Europe, Australia, China and North America.  Within Europe there are opportunities to go on exchange at Darmstadt University (Germany), the University of the Basque Country (Bilbao, Spain), Universite Robert Schuman (Strasbourg, France), the University of Paris - Sorbonne, the University of Tampere (Finland), the University of Wroclaw (Poland), and Bilkent University (Ankara, Turkey).  Students visiting European universities receive financial support, through the ERASMUS scheme, and free language tuition at the host institution.

Beyond Europe the Department has links with McGill University (Montreal, Canada), the University of Victoria (Victoria, Canada), Griffith University (Brisbane, Australia), and Renmin University (Beijing, China).  These destinations, and those in Europe, offer a unique opportunity to develop crucial academic and life skills as part of a once-in-a-lifetime The International Exchange Programme Experience.