Learn Welsh Awards Ceremony 2019

Clwb Eiddew were awarded Welsh Group of the Year 2019

Clwb Eiddew were awarded Welsh Group of the Year 2019

26 January 2020

On 22 October 2019 in a joint ceremony with Lifelong Learning in the Old College, we celebrated the success of Welsh learners who had passed the WJEC examination in 2019, these included learners at Entry, Foundation, Intermediate and Advanced levels. The certificates were presented to the successful applicants by Elen James, Corporate Lead Officer - Lifelong Learning and Culture, Ceredigion County Council.

Special awards for Learning Welsh were then presented in these categories:
Welsh for the Family Award: won by Theresa Corbett from Rhayader in Powys.~
Welsh in the Workplace (employers): won by the National Library for Wales, Aberyswyth.
Welsh Work Award: Ailinor Evans who works for Ateb Housing Association in Haverfordwest won this award
Welsh Group of the Year: Clwb Eiddiew, Montgomery. Group members Julie Pearce, Barry Lord, Alun and Doreen Bowen and Sue and Bryan Hyland attended to receive their award.

Next, Mari Turner, the Mayor of Aberystwyth presented Mary Millington, Neil Morgan and Sarah Childs with the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol's Language Skills Certificate.

We also celebrated the success of Learn Welsh Teaching Tutors who have passed the National Qualification, namely Gwenan Griffiths, Gwyneth Davies and Mererid Haf Roberts.

Finally, the success of Diane Jones, Jeff Smith and Diane Norell in the Gorsedd examination at the National Eisteddfod was acknowledged.

You can view photos from the entire event including Lifelong learning awards in the link below: