Equality and Diversity

The Institute of Physics (IOP) has pioneered gender equality issues through its Juno Project


The project's goal is to take action to address the under-representation of women in university physics and to encourage best practice for all. The Juno mission at Aberystwyth is led by Professor John Gough who chairs the Equality and Diversity/ Juno Committee.

Juno Project - Six Principles

Project Juno is underpinned by the following six principles
http://www.iop.org/policy/diversity/initiatives/juno/principles/page_42621.html :

  1. A robust organisational framework to deliver equality of opportunity and reward
  2. Appointment and selection processes and procedures that encourage men and women to apply for academic posts at all levels
  3. Departmental structures and systems which support and encourage the career progression and promotion of all staff and enable men and women to progress and continue in their careers
  4. Departmental organisation, structure, management arrangements and culture that are open, inclusive and transparent and encourage the participation of all staff
  5. Flexible approaches and provisions that enable individuals, at all career and life stages, to optimise their contribution to their department, institution and to Science, Engineering and Technology ( SET )
  6. An environment where professional conduct is embedded into departmental culture and behaviour.

The Department has Practitioner Status, which means that we have met principle 1 and are moving to implement all six principles.

Aberystwyth Juno Committee Members

Rachel Cross Lecturer rac21
Andy Evans Head of Department dne
Ruth Fowler Communications and Equality Officer ruf
Maire Gorman Lecturer mng2
John Gough Lecturer jug
Lyra Hawkins Undergraduate Representative  
Carys Huntly Staff ces18
Thomas Knight Lecturer tmk08
Dave Langstaff Lecturer dpl
David Lewis Technician Staff dgl
Giselle Morris PhD Student grm4
Eleri Pryse Lecturer sep
Kerry Whittlesea PhD Student kew21