The University & Research Group

On the west coast of Wales between Cardigan Bay and the Cambrian Mountains, Aberystwyth is a small, friendly community. The University was established in 1872, and has a high reputation for teaching excellence and exceptional student experience. Physics and Astronomy have been taught and researched at Aberystwyth since the University was established.

The Solar System Physics (SSP) group has a long heritage of pioneering research including radio observations of the ionosphere and solar wind, planetary, and solar physics. Currently, the group specialises in the development of image processing, data analysis and modelling tools for solar, heliospheric, planetary and magnetospheric observations.

Our Sponsors