Other Funding

Other Funding

Potential Funding Opportunities...

AberGrad Scholarships

We offer a Scholarship towards Taught Masters (excluding PGCE), LLM by research and MPhil tuition fees for Aberystwyth University graduates registering for study in 2019.

The Aber-Grad Scholarship applies to both UK/EU and International students. You must hold at least a 2:2 undergraduate degree from Aberystwyth University to be considered eligible for the Aber- Grad Scholarship. The scheme covers all modes of study (full-time, part-time and distance learning) but does not cover staff candidates.

If you hold a First Class Bachelors (Hons.) degree, then the scholarship will be 20% of your tuition fees. Holders of Second Class degrees are eligible for a scholarship worth 10% of your Taught Masters tuition fee.

for an eligible course must be received by 27th July 2019 at the latest. You do not need to apply separately for this loyalty discount. It is automatically awarded to students on enrolment where eligible.

Applicants may only hold the Aber-Grad scholarship with other funding providing as the combined amount does not exceed 50% of the Master's Tuition fees. Please note that the regulations of other scholarships often prevent them from being held with other awards. It is the applicants’ responsibility to check this. Loans are not treated as scholarships for this purpose. 

If you have any queries about the Aber-Grad Scholarship, please contact the Postgraduate Admissions Office. Please note that this scheme is subject to annual review.

Aberystwyth University – GREAT Scholarships 2019 – China

In partnership with the British Council and the GREAT Britain Campaign, Aberystwyth University is offering two scholarships to students in Malaysia and four scholarships to students in China applying for any of our postgraduate taught courses. 

This scholarship scheme is part of the "GREAT Scholarships 2019 - East Asia" campaign, which has been launched by the British Council together with 28 UK universities to support more students in East Asia to get access to the excellent UK higher education opportunities. It offers an exciting opportunity for East Asian students wishing to gain financial support to pursue postgraduate study in the UK.

The Scholarships will be awarded for academic excellence (Bachelor's degree with a minimum 2nd class upper division).  Separate scholarship application forms are not required.  Applicants should write 'I am applying for the GREAT Scholarship' on their postgraduate application form.

To be considered for the GREAT Scholarship 2019:

  1. Applicants should be passport holders of Malaysia or China.
  2. Applicants from China must submit an application for a taught Master's degree at Aberystwyth University by 30th March 2019. In addition, acceptance of an offer of an award, and payment of the £2,000 course deposit must be received within 2 weeks of being offered.
  3. Applicants from Malaysia must submit an application for a taught Master's degree at Aberystwyth by 30th June 2019.  In addition, acceptance of an offer of an award, and payment of the £2,000 course deposit must be received within 2 weeks of being offered.

For more information on the GREAT Scholarships 2019, please visit the British Council's country website in your country.

British Council

International students are strongly encouraged to approach the British Council in their home countries at the earliest date possible to enquire about assistance.  In addition, most British Council offices will have a library of resources that you can use to find out about independent charities and trusts that may have scholarships to award in your chosen field of study.

For further information visit the British Council website.

Chevening Scholarships

Chevening Scholarships provide full funding for a one-year Master’s degree in any subject.  Applicants must be a citizens from a Chevening-eligible country or territory.

This full financial support is provided by he UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office and partner organisations. The scholarships are awarded to outstanding scholars with leadership potential.

For further information about the potential funding available through the Chevening Scholarship scheme, and for details of eligibility criteria and how to apply, please visit www.chevening.org/scholarships/.


Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Aberystwyth University has been offered the allocation of 1 award for 2020/21 for the following approved course:

All Shared Scholarship applications must be made via the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission’s EAS system and not through our University’s application portal.

Further information is available on the CSC’s website

It is important that candidates are not selected for nomination first and then asked to complete the EAS as this causes delays. Candidates will only be expected to apply for a place on the relevant course through the University’s Application Portal system at a later stage at the shortlisting stage.

Candidates must have at the very least an upper second (2.i) Bachelors Honours degree in a cognate discipline (e.g. Biological Sciences or Animal Science, or a closely related discipline, for the MSc Animal Science or MRes Parasite Control; or Computer Science or Software Engineering, or a closely related discipline, for the MSc Data Science). In reality, many candidates will have a 1st class degree.

The Comparing Qualification matrix will be used to compare international qualifications with a UK 2.i Honours degree.

Candidates must also be able to evidence their level of proficiency in the English language. For further information, please https://www.aber.ac.uk/en/postgrad/apply/english-language/ for further information. 


Eligible Commonwealth countries: Bangladesh; Cameroon; Ghana; Guyana; India; Kenya; Kiribati; Lesotho; Malawi; Mozambique; Nigeria; Pakistan; Papua New Guinea; Rwanda; Samoa; Sierra Leone; Solomon Islands; Sri Lanka; Swaziland; Tanzania; Tuvalu; Uganda; Vanuatu; Zambia.


The 2020 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme Terms & Conditions are available on the CSC's website, and the EAS opens for applications on 6 November 2019  Applications must be completed via the EAS by 16:00 on 18 December 2019.

Stafford and Grad Plus Federal Loan Programs

(For students from the USA only)

Please visit our US Federal Loans page for relevant details.

US Fulbright Global Wales Postgraduate Award

Please note that this award is open for applicants from the USA only

This is a Master’s degree scholarship to study at one of the participating Welsh Universities (including Aberystwyth University), in any field. Top scholars are welcome to apply to the Global Wales Master’s award. It is a central award to any of the Welsh Universities, but the applicant should specify the proposed subject to study, proposed supervisor, and at which university.

Subject: This award is open to all disciplines

Award covers: Tuition waiver for a Master’s, plus living stipend of £13,450

Applications close early October for the following academic year.

For further details, including information about how to apply for this award, please visit: www.fulbright.org.uk/going-to-the-uk.

US Marshall Scholarships

(Students from the USA only)

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom. At least forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at a UK institution in any field of study. Each scholarship is held for two years.

For further information visit: http://www.marshallscholarship.org/