AHRC PhD Scholarships

AHRC PhD Scholarships

Aberystwyth University has achieved a significant kite mark in postgraduate research and training by becoming a partner in the South, West and Wales Consortium.

The Consortium has been awarded £14.2 million funding from the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) over five-years to deliver postgraduate supervision, training and skills development, with up to 52 doctoral studentships being awarded each year over this five-year period.

This will be the only route for prospective PhD studentships for subjects in the humanities.

Prospective applicants will benefit from exclusive prominent partners who include:

  • BBC (Drama) & BBC (Factual)
  • Bristol Museums, Galleries and Archives
  • Butetown History & Arts Centre
  • Cadw
  • City of London Corporation
  • Crafts Council
  • CyMAL
  • Devon Heritage Service
  • engage
  • Exeter Northcott Theatre
  • Green Bay
  • Historic England and English Heritage
  • National Archives
  • National Library of Wales
  • National Museum of Wales
  • National Trust
  • Roman Baths Museum
  • Royal Commission on the Ancient & Historical Monuments of Wales
  • Somerset Heritage Centre
  • Twofour
  • Watershed
  • Welsh National Opera
  • Wiltshire & Swindon Heritage Centre...

...and a number of overseas academic partners.


These partners bring academic and professional expertise in a range of disciplines and Welsh Culture.

Prospective UK/EU applicants who are eligible for funding will need to register for the virtual information sessions by 1 November 2019. Following that, they will be invited to attend the virtual information sessions for the DTP at the end of November 2019. 

Applications for both funding and PhD place may be submitted via the SWW DTP site from 27 November 2019 until the final deadline of 11 January 2020. Applicants will be required to submit a research proposal and a 500 word personal statement.

To summarise the relevant deadlines for the 2019 competition:

  • 1 November – Registration deadline for Virtual Information Sessions (on DTP website)
  • End November – Virtual Information Sessions
  • 11 January – Application deadline  (apply for a place and scholarship via DTP site)
  • 12 March – Interview Week commences
  • Late March - Results

The awards will be made on the basis of academic merit, with no fixed quota assigned to any one institution or subject area within the DTP. Prospective applicants are encouraged to focus their proposal in any field of Arts and Humanities research; proposals for interdisciplinary research are encouraged.

To register your interest, please use the following link: https://swwdtp.fluidreview.com/

Please note that it is expected that any potential attendee will:

  • Have a record of excellent preparation and evidence of exceptional promise for PhD study;
  • Have a compelling project that will benefit from the expertise we can offer in and across a range of subjects and from our rich archival resources and a network of professional partners;
  • Have attained at least a first degree at 2:2 or higher (or international equivalent), and have achieved or be working towards a postgraduate qualification.

We also encourage applications from those with non-traditional qualifications/routes who:

  • Achieved at least a first degree of 2.2 or higher (or international equivalent) and are not presently working towards a postgraduate qualification, but who can demonstrate equivalent experience and aptitude for research in their field;
  • Did not achieve a first degree at 2.2 or higher (or international equivalent) but can demonstrate high achievement at postgraduate level.

Registration for the Virtual Information Sessions will close on 1 November 2019.


Eligibility and Value of Studentship

The studentship will cover a stipend at the standard Research Council rate, currently £14,553 per annum for 2019-2020, and tuition fees at the UK/EU rate for students who meet the residency requirements outlined by the AHRC. Studentship terms will be tailored to individual needs and may cover periods of pre-doctoral training and external placements. Students from EU countries who do not meet the residency requirements may still be eligible for a fees-only award.


Subject Areas:

Archaeology; Celtic Studies; Classics; Creative Writing; Drama, Film & Television; English; History; Law; Modern Languages; Music; Philosophy; Theology & Religious Studies.