In accordance with the Charter and Statutes, Aberystwyth University appoints a number of Honorary Officers.


Sir Emyr Jones Parry GCMG PhD FInstP (until 31 December 2017)

  • Sir Emyr Jones Parry was born Carmarthen and is a Welsh speaker. He is a graduate of Cardiff University and was awarded a PhD in Physics from Cambridge. He was a Career Diplomat from 1973 – 2007, where his last postings were as Ambassador to the United Nations New York, Permanent Representative to NATO, and Political Director of the Foreign Office.
  • From 2007 – 2009 he chaired the All Wales Convention on the Future Powers of the National Assembly for Wales. He has experience of all levels of Government, the European Union, Constitutional Development in the UK, Science Policy, and International Relations.


Mrs Elizabeth France CBE BSc Econ Hon DSc Hon DLitt (until 30 April 2018)

  • Alumna (1968-1971), Politics.
  • Civil service career (Home Office) leaving in 1994 to become Data Protection Registrar.
  • Now public bodies' non-executive director (NED) including Chair of the Security Industry Authority and Member British Transport Police Authority.


Miss Gwerfyl Pierce Jones MA (until 31 December 2019)

  • Gwerfyl Pierce Jones was born in Holyhead, Anglesey and was educated at Holyhead Secondary School and the University of North Wales, Bangor. She began her career as a lecturer in the Welsh Department at St David's University College, Lampeter.
  • She subsequently held posts in arts administration with the Welsh Arts Council, the Academi and the Welsh Books Council. She served as Director and chief executive of the Welsh Books Council from 1987 until her retirement in 2009.
  • She has served on numerous boards and committees, including the the British Council (Wales Committee), the National Library of Wales and the Welsh Language Board. She is the Chairman of the James Pantyfedwen Trust and chair of its Examining Committee. Gwerfyl is also chair of Theatr Genedlaethol Cymru. She became a Fellow of the University of Wales Lampeter in 2008.


Dr Glyn Rowlands BA PhD (until 31 December 2017)

  • Dr Glyn Rowlands’ undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Chemistry at the University of Wales Aberystwyth were followed by a two year Fellowship at Iowa State University specialising in rare earth chemistry. He continued in a scientific career in both the UK and US Atomic Energy Authorities until the mid-eighties. He then switched to marketing and management, eventually becoming Managing Director of Huntingdon Research Centre (now known as Huntingdon Life Sciences).
  • At about fifty years of age he made another career move becoming a self-employed consultant to the Venture Capital Industry working mainly for 3i and Thomson Clive. He tended to specialise in smaller/high tech companies with his role as Chairman/ shareholder. This led to the development of a company called Homecraft which he grew substantially and eventually sold on to Smith and Nephew. Latterly, he acted as a consultant for a San-Diego based company specialising in up market thermometry and eventually orchestrated the successful sale of the business.
  • As a father of two and now a grandfather of seven children, he has enjoyed family and leisure opportunities as well as pursuing his career. A very keen sportsman as a young man, he still enjoys playing golf and bowls. In 2000, he was made a Fellow of the University.


Dr Timothy Brain OBE QPM BA PhD FRSA CCMI (until 31 December 2021)

  • Dr Timothy Brain was Chief Constable of Gloucestershire from 2001 until January 2010, retiring as the longest serving chief constable in the country.  Before joining the Service he was a student at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth, from 1972 to 1978 where he read history, obtaining a first class honours degree in 1975 and his PhD in 1983.
  • A leading analyst of policing, he is a frequent speaker and broadcaster on a wide range of police subjects including police futures, strategic leadership, police finance, performance management, police history and anti-vice policing.
  • He holds Visiting Professorships at London South Bank and Gloucestershire universities. He is an Honorary Senior Research Fellow at Cardiff University and an Honorary Fellow of Aberystwyth University. In 2008 he was awarded an honorary doctorate of laws at the University of Gloucestershire.