Secretary of State for Wales to deliver Institute of Welsh Politics Annual Lecture

06 March 2015

Secretary of State for Wales, Stephen Crabb MP
Secretary of State for Wales, Stephen Crabb MP

Secretary of State for Wales, Stephen Crabb MP is to give the 15th Institute of Welsh Politics (IWP) Annual Lecture at Aberystwyth University on Wednesday 11 March 2015.

The lecture will take place in the International Politics building on the Penglais campus, and will commence at 7pm. All are welcome.

Stephen Crabb won his seat in 2005 from Labour, becoming the youngest member of the Conservative Parliamentary intake when he won in Preseli Pembrokeshire.

During his time in Parliament, he has served on the Welsh Affairs Select Committee, International Development Select Committee, and the Treasury Select Committee.

He has also held the post of Parliamentary Undersecretary of State for Wales, serving under David Jones.

In 2014, he was named the Welsh Politician of the Year in a ceremony held at Cardiff City Hall.

Speaking ahead of the lecture, Dr Anwen Elias, Director of the Institute of Welsh Politics, said that she was “delighted to welcome Stephen Crabb MP to Aberystwyth University to deliver the Institute of Welsh Politics’ Annual Lecture. We know that these last seven months, since Stephen Crabb was appointed to his current role, have seen very important discussions taking place regarding the future of devolution in the UK, and we look forward to hearing his vision for Wales, barely two months before the next General Election in May 2015”.

The Institute of Welsh Politics

The Institute of Welsh Politics is an independent and non-partisan research centre established within the Department of International Politics at Aberystwyth University in 1997, the oldest department of its kind in the world.  It was established to promote the academic study and analysis of all aspects of Welsh politics and the IWP is now internationally recognised as an important research centre on political regionalism and sub-state nationalism.

This is the fifteenth Institute of Welsh Politics Annual Lecture.  Previous speakers include three First Ministers of the National Assembly of Wales, Alun Michael MP, Rhodri Morgan AM, and Carwyn Jones AM as well as Ieuan Wyn Jones AM, Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach, Sir Simon Jenkins, Professor Tom Nairn, Professor Robert Hazell, Professor Michael Keating, Kirsty Williams AM, Huw Lewis AM, Adam Price MP, Leanne Wood AM, and Professor Charlie Jeffery.


Back to the top


Gwenan Creunant
Institute of Welsh Politics
Department of International Politics
Aberystwyth University
01970 622336 /

Arthur Dafis
Communications and Public Affairs
Aberystwyth University
01970 621763 / 07841 979 452 /