Aberystwyth Arts Centre secures additional recovery funding

Aberystwyth Arts Centre

Aberystwyth Arts Centre

08 June 2021

Aberystwyth Arts Centre has secured additional funding of £605,365 following a successful bid to the second round of the Welsh Government’s Cultural Recovery Fund.

A rescue and recovery package supporting arts organisations and institutions in Wales, the Cultural Recovery Fund’s aim is to help the arts sector in Wales to survive the COVID-19 crisis and to remain vibrant, financially viable and sustainable.

In an announcement on 7 June 2021, the Arts Council of Wales, which managed the element of the fund for eligible arts organisations, detailed which organisations had been successful in their applications for recovery funding to cover the period from 1 April 2021 to 30 September 2021.  The full announcement can be found on the Arts Council of Wales webpage.

Responding to the announcement, Director of Aberystwyth Arts Centre, Dafydd Rhys, said: “We’re so proud and grateful for the ongoing recognition by the Arts Council of Wales of the importance of Aberystwyth Arts Centre as a focal point for the arts in mid and west Wales, and that we have been further entrusted to lead the way as the cultural and arts sector recovers from the COVID crisis.

“This funding will help to reignite the cultural buzz at the Arts Centre following the global pandemic.  We are eagerly anticipating welcoming people back when we reopen our doors later this month, and have been busy putting together an exciting programme of events and activities which will draw in a wide range of audiences.”

Aberystwyth Arts Centre is Wales’ largest arts centre and recognised as a national flagship for the arts. It has a wide-ranging artistic programme, both producing and presenting, across all art forms including drama, dance, music, visual arts, film, and community arts and is recognised as a national centre for arts development. 

The Arts Centre is supported by the Arts Council of Wales, Aberystwyth University and Ceredigion County Council.