History and Welsh History crowned Aberystwyth Department of the Year

Members of staff from the Department of History and Welsh History  - L to R: Abby Monk, Dr Arddun Arwyn, Dr Steve Thompson, Dr Diana Valencia-Duarte

Members of staff from the Department of History and Welsh History - L to R: Abby Monk, Dr Arddun Arwyn, Dr Steve Thompson, Dr Diana Valencia-Duarte

22 May 2024

The Department of History and Welsh History won the coveted title of Department of the Year at the Undeb Aberystwyth ‘Teaching, Learning & Student Experience Awards’ 2024.

Organised annually by Undeb Aberystwyth, the students’ union, and supported by Aberystwyth University, the award ceremony took place on Thursday 2 May on Penglais Campus.

Fourteen awards were presented, recognising and celebrating the contributions of staff and students to the Aberystwyth student experience.

The Department of History and Welsh History, which was crowned Department of the Year, was commended for its warm, welcoming and supportive staff, with one testimonial saying: “All the lecturers and staff work so hard to make our student experience the best it can be by marking promptly and comprehensively, organising field trips, communicating clearly and consistently, and taking care to treat us students as individuals.”

Undeb Aberystwyth Academic Affairs Officer, Anna Simpkins, said:

“This year’s award ceremony was a fabulous celebration honouring the very best in learning, teaching, and the student experience.  There is nowhere quite like Aberystwyth University, and that’s thanks to students and staff like these who are passionate about the Aber student experience.”

Professor Tim Woods, the University’s Pro Vice-Chancellor for Learning, Teaching and Student Experience, said:

“Well done to all the students and staff who were nominated for an award this evening, and congratulations to the winners. The nominations for this year’s awards clearly demonstrate what a remarkable place Aberystwyth University is - it is no wonder we have such an enviable record in national league tables for our student experience and teaching quality.” 

The winners of the Undeb Aberystwyth Teaching, Learning & Student Experience Awards 2024 were:

Department of the Year
History & Welsh History

Lecturer of the Year
Dr Chris Finlayson, Department of Physics

Personal Tutor of the Year
Dr Neal Alexander, Department of English and Creative Writing

Supervisor of the Year
Dr Amanda Clare, Department of Computer Science

Support/Service Staff Member of the Year
Dr Claudine Young, Student Services

Welsh Culture Champion
Professor Mererid Hopwood, Department of Welsh and Celtic Studies

Commitment to Student Employability Award
Dr Scott Tompsett, Department of Life Sciences

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year
Harry Marsh

Academic Representative of the Year
Francesco Lanzi

Student Staff Member of the Year
Renata Freeman

Liberation Champion Award
Ren Feldbruegge

Student Mentor of the Year
Dax FitzMedrud

Sustainability Champion of the Year
Dan Whitlock

Volunteer of the Year 
Trys Hooper