Human trafficking

Professor Ryszard Piotrowicz.

Professor Ryszard Piotrowicz.

08 October 2012

Professor Ryszard Piotrowicz of the Department of Law and Criminology at Aberystwyth University has been nominated by the UK Government for election to GRETA - the Group of Experts on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings.

The election takes place on 12 and 13 November.

GRETA has been established by the Council of Europe to monitor European States’ laws and activities in the prevention of human trafficking and the protection of victims of trafficking.

Professor Piotrowicz has also been reappointed recently to the European Commission’s Group of Experts on Trafficking in Human Beings, for a four-year term, and he has been made an advisor on human trafficking to the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe.

Originally from Scotland, Professor Piotrowicz studied at the Universities of Dundee, Glasgow, Thessaloniki and Warsaw, as well as the Polish Institute of International Affairs in Warsaw and the Max-Planck-Institute for International Law in Heidelberg.

After being awarded his PhD in 1987, he took up a lectureship in law at the University of Tasmania, where he spent ten years and was latterly the Dean of the Law Faculty.

He took up a chair in law at Aberystwyth in 1999 and has also taught international law at the Universities of Glasgow, and Durham. He is an Alexander-von-Humboldt Fellow and has been a visiting professor of international law in several countries.

A specialist in migration law and international humanitarian law, he is currently working mostly on legal issues arising out of trafficking in human beings.

He has advised international organisations, national governments and non-governmental organisations on these matters and has been a member of the European Commission’s Group of Experts on Trafficking in Human Beings since 2008.

Professor Piotrowicz has worked extensively with international organisations, including the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), The United Nations Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the International Organization for Migration (IOM) and the EU.