Psychology crowned Department of the Year for second year running

Banner Celebrating Staff and Student Successes

Banner Celebrating Staff and Student Successes

04 May 2020

The Department of Psychology has won the coveted title of Department of the Year at the Aberystwyth Students’ Union Staff and Student Awards 2020, for an unprecedented second consecutive year.

Now in their ninth year, the annual awards celebrate the exceptional contributions of staff, students, academic representatives and departments at Aberystwyth University.

Organised by Aberystwyth Students Union (AberSU) with the support of the University, due to Covid-19, this year’s awards were announced live on the AberSU website and on social media channels on Thursday 30 April 2020.

Chloe Wilkinson-Silk, AberSU Academic Affairs Officer for 2019-20 said: “I am extremely grateful that despite all the difficulties right now, we have still had this opportunity to come together and recognise and celebrate the best of the best within our institution.  It is a testament to the strong family community here at Aberystwyth University - we may be apart, but we are still together. 

“We received an amazing 265 nominations for this year’s awards, many of which were extremely personal and heartfelt.  Congratulations to all the nominees and winners, who are a vital part of what makes Aberystwyth University the incredible learning community that it is.”

Aberystwyth University’s Pro Vice-Chancellor: Learning Teaching and Student Experience, Professor Tim Woods said: “In these times of lockdown it is a shame not to have been able to get together to celebrate this years’ awards, but I would like to thank AberSU for all the effort they put into the ‘virtual’ event. Working through the nominations for the AberSU Staff and Student Awards along with the Students’ Union Officers has become one of the highlights of my year.  This year’s warm tributes referred to staff members’ dedication, commitment, involvement, innovation, humour and wit. Reading them makes me proud to belong to this wonderful TEF Gold, Times Higher, WhatUni award-winning University here in west Wales. Congratulations to all of the staff and students who were nominated and to the winners of this year’s awards.” 

The winners of the AberSU Staff and Students Awards 2020 are:

Academic Representative of the Year

Kate Warren – Physics

Creative Teaching

Dr Gillian McFadyen - Department of International Politics

Welsh Language Champion

Iwan Davies - Department of Geography and Earth Sciences

Next Step Award

Annabel Latham - School of Education

Personal Tutor of the Year

Dr Bill Perkins - Department of Geography and Earth Sciences

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year

Panna Karlinger - School of Education (Tutor for Department of Mathematics)

Student Staff Member of the Year

Khai Jackson - Department of Psychology

Student Volunteer of the Year

Daphne Pacey - Department of History and Welsh History

Support/Service Staff Member of the Year

Siân Jones - Information Services

Student Mentor of the Year

Rezija Madara Fridrihsone - School of Art

Supervisor of the Year

Dr Tom Holt - Department of Geography and Earth Sciences

Lecturer of the Year

Dr Peadar Ó Muircheartaigh - Department of Welsh and Celtic Studies

Department of the Year