Regulations for Professional Certificate in Education (PCET)

1. The Professional Certificate in Education (PCET) may be awarded following successful completion of a modular scheme of study as approved by the University on either a full-time or part-time basis.

2. The Professional Certificate in Education (PCET) is an undergraduate award offered at CQFW levels 5 and 6 (HE levels 2 and 3). Students must complete 120 credits at CQFW levels 5 or 6, at least 60 of which must be at level 6. Students must also complete practical teaching elements to the satisfaction of the examiners, as specified for the scheme of study.

3. The Professional Certificate in Education (PCET) is designed to prepare students for teaching in further education and the broader post-compulsory sector.

4. To be eligible for admittance to an award covered by these regulations a candidate shall: have fulfilled any entry conditions which may be required by the programme in question.

5. Students can be awarded Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) and/or Recognition of Prior Experiential Learning (RPEL) in accordance with the relevant University procedure. The maximum number of credits which may be accepted to count towards the Professional Certificate in Education (PCET) award shall be 60.

6. Students must pass all 120 credits to qualify for the award. The modular pass-mark shall be 40%. Examining boards will classify awards overall grades based on an average mark weighted according to the credits of modules, and using the following scale:

70% and over: Distinction level
55 – 69%: Merit level
40 – 54%: Pass
0 – 39%: Fail

7. The maximum time limit for the Professional Certificate in Education will be two years for full-time candidates and three years for part-time candidates.


Updated: Sept 2021