New IBERS Farms Advisory Board

Following the merger of IGER into Aberystwyth University to form IBERS, the Institute’s research and commercial farm activities have also been merged into a single operation.  The new University farms now comprise 6 separate units, over 1100 hectares of land and involve a wide range of crop and livestock enterprises.
Professor Wayne Powell, Director of IBERS said
“The challenge is to develop a new farms strategy that will secure the provision of the very best research facilities and at the same time improve commercial performance. One example is AU investing in new facilities at Trawscoed, re-inforcing the IBERS  commitment to support and work with the agricultural sector.”
A new IBERS Farms Advisory Board has been established that will meet twice a year to contribute to the strategic development of Aberystwyth University Farms, and to ensure that activities not only meet the requirements of research, but are also aligned with the needs of producers, processors and retailers in the UK food sector.
“ IBERS is delighted to have secured the commitment of this high calibre membership to the Farms Advisory Board; representing the many facets within the industry” said Professor Powell.

Dr Huw Mc Conochie, IBERS Farms Manager Dr Huw Mc Conochie, IBERS Farms Manager

IBERS Aberystwyth University Farms Advisory Board Members:

  • Mr Gareth Davies
    Head of Agriculture
    Wynnstay Group Plc
  • Mr David Edwards
    DWE Consulting Ltd

  • Mr Gareth Evans
    Company Secretary,
    Celtic Pride Ltd

  • Mr Huw Gwillim
    Agri-Food Regional Manager Food, FMDD
    Welsh Assembly Government

  • Mr David Wynne Finch
    Wynne Finch Farms

  • Mr Anthony O’Regan
    Director of Farm Business Survey

  • Mr Duncan C Sinclair
    UK Agriculture Manager
    Waitrose Ltd

  • Mr John Lloyd Jones OBE
    Countryside Council for Wales

  • Professor Martin Jones
    Pro Vice Chancellor
    Institute of Geography and Earth Sciences
    Aberystwyth University

  • Dr Huw Mc Conochie
    IBERS Farms Manager

  • Mrs Rachel Rowlands, MBE

  • Dr Sinclair Mayne
    Departmental Scientific Advisor
    Department of Agriculture and Rural Development Northern Ireland