AberSU Celebrates Staff and Students Shortlist

18 March 2019

AberSU Celebrates Staff and Students Shortlist

It’s been a couple of weeks since we held the shortlisting panel for the AberSU Staff and Students Awards. The panel consisted of Megan Hatfield (Academic Affairs Officer),  Katie Love (Academic Rep), Joao Louro (Faculty Rep), Chloe Wilkinson-Silk (Faculty Rep), Pippa Jones (Academic Rep) and Tim Woods (PVC Learning, Teaching and Student Experience) who met to go through every one of your 280 nominations! A shortlist of nominees has been selected and winners of each of the 15 awards chosen.

All AberSU Celebrates Week Awards are student led from nomination to presentation and so are a special way to thank staff and students at Aberystwyth University for their amazing achievements, support and hard work.

We are pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2019 AberSU Staff and Students Awards are:


Next Step Award

Lorraine Spencer

Ian Birchmore

Christina Evans


Volunteer Officer of the Year

Winner to be announced on the night


Postgraduate Teacher of the Year

Angharad Ffion James

Sagar Murdeshwar


Supervisor of the Year

Björn Weiler

Ally Evans

Karl Hoffmann

Sarah Riley


Outstanding Feedback Award

Simon Payne

Ugochukwu Lawrence Obibuaku


Student Mentor of the Year

Jana Wattenberg

Jayne Elizabeth Kamintzis

Panna Karlinger


Personal Tutor of the Year

Brendan Coyle

Aloysius Igboekwu

Andrew Evans

Iain Chalmers


Hyrwyddwr yr Iaith Gymraeg (Welsh Language Champion)

Winner to be announced on the night


Student Volunteer of the Year

Weronika Zapalska

Robin Church

Oliver Earl


Support / Service Staff Member of the Year

Tina Alaxander

Lorraine Spencer

Doug Kerr

Laura George


Academic Representative of the Year

Ffion Margetson

Aaron Phillips

Panna Karlinger

Jess Thompson


Leading Equality Award

Winner to be announced on the night


Lecturer of the Year

Gabor Gelleri

Martine Robson

Peadar Ó Muircheartaigh

Deena Bhoyroo

Saffron Passam


Department of the Year




Law and Criminology


Special Mention

Winner to be announced on the night


A huge congratulation to all shortlisted nominees. The AberSU Celebrates Staff and Students Awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday 2nd April 7.00pm in the Great Hall, Aberystwyth Arts Centre.

We hope to see many of you there for a great evening celebrating the hard work and dedication of Aberystwyth University students and staff!