2017 Awards

For the first time in 2017 Aberystwyth University celebrated St David’s Day with an award ceremony in the Old College to recognise exceptional contributions by staff and students to the Welsh language in the University.

The guest of honour was Ian Gwyn Hughes, Head of Public Affairs, FA Wales and Professor Elin Haf Gruffydd Jones was the mistress of ceremony. The audience was entertained by Aelwyd Pantycelyn choir, CYD choir, the harpist Eleri Turner and Gwawn (Iestyn Tyne and Alun Williams).

The Winners

Each winner received a certificate and an englyn especially composed for them by the poet Eirug Salisbury.

Exceptional Learner Award (staff)

A member of staff who has learnt Welsh and is making an exceptional effort to use and apply the language at work.

  • Faaeza Jasdanwalla-Williams - History Department and Information Services

Welsh Language Champion Award (staff)

A member of staff who has been particularly supportive of the Welsh language in the workplace.

  • Mair Daker - Information Services - Thomas-Parry Library

Welsh Medium Study Award (student)

A student who has overcome hurdles or who has made a special effort and is dedicated to studying through the medium of Welsh.

  • Owen Lloyd Howell - Welsh and Geography

Welsh Language Champion Award (student)

A student who has made a special contribution to the community’s and/or the University’s Welsh language identity by volunteering or by arranging Welsh medium events for fellow students.

  • Jeff Smith - Physics

Three additional awards for exceptional contributions were presented during the ceremony also :

Lifelong Contribution Award

  • Felicity Roberts - Welsh for Adults and the Welsh Department
  • Jaci Taylor - Welsh for Adults

Special Contribution to the Welsh Language Award

  • Jamie Holder - National Library of Wales

Click here to see a slide show of the ceremony.