Session 2022 / 2023

Dates of Term should be read in conjunction with the University’s residency requirements for full-time students as set out in section 3.1 of Student Rules and Regulations.

Event

Date

Michaelmas Term  Monday 26/09/2022 - Saturday 17/12/2022 (12 weeks)
Welcome/Induction/Registration  Monday 26/09/2022 – Friday 30/09/2022 (1 week)
Semester 1 Teaching  Monday 03/10/2022 – Saturday 17/12/2022 (11 weeks)
Christmas Vacation* Monday 19/12/2022 – Saturday 07/01/2023 (3 weeks)
Lent Term  Monday 09/01/2023 – Saturday 22/04/2023 (11 weeks)
Semester 1 Examinations Wednesday 11/01/2023 – Wednesday 25/01/2023 (2 weeks)
Induction/Prep for Semester 2  Thursday 26/01/2023 – Saturday 28/01/2023 (3 days)
Semester 2 Teaching Monday 30/01/2023 – Saturday 25/03/2023 (8 weeks)
Easter Vacation* Monday 27/03/2023 – Saturday 15/04/2023 (3 weeks)
Easter Term Monday 17/04/2023 – Saturday 03/06/2023 (7 weeks)
Semester 2 Teaching Monday 17/04/2023 - Monday 08/05/2023 (3 weeks + 1 day)
Reading/Revision Week Tuesday 09/05/2023 - Saturday 13/05/2023 (5 days)
Semester 2 Examinations Monday 15/05/2023 – Saturday 03/06/2023 (3 weeks)
Graduation Week Tuesday 18/07/2023 – Friday 21/07/2023 (Royal Welsh 24-28 July 2023)
Supplementary Examinations Monday 14/08/2023 – Friday 24/08/2023

*Vacation period for full-time undergraduate and postgraduate taught students, and for students on the International Foundation Programme. Formal, timetabled classes will not take place during vacation periods, but fieldwork, work experience placements and other activities may do.

The period from the end of Term 3 to the beginning of the following session is a vacation period for for full-time undergraduate students and for students on the International Foundation Programme. Students should however ensure that they are available to take resit exams in Aberystwyth during the August supplementary examination period. Note that full-time postgraduate taught students will continue to pursue their studies during this period.

Full-time postgraduate research students are required to be resident in Aberystwyth for 44 weeks a year, with the remaining 8 weeks to be taken as conditional leave. The timing of postgraduate research leave will be determined in discussion between student and supervisor, but does not need to coincide with the University vacation periods which are published in the dates of term.

Please note that Induction and Preparation periods at the beginning of semester 1 and 2 are integral parts of the academic year. Students are expected to be resident in Aberystwyth during these periods and to participate in activities as arranged by the University and by academic departments.