Other Funding

Other Funding

Potential Funding Opportunities...

British Council

International students are strongly encouraged to approach the British Council in their home countries at the earliest date possible to enquire about assistance.  In addition, most British Council offices will have a library of resources that you can use to find out about independent charities and trusts that may have scholarships to award in your chosen field of study.

For further information visit the British Council website.

Chevening Scholarships

Chevening Scholarships provide full funding for a one-year Master’s degree in any subject.  Applicants must be a citizens from a Chevening-eligible country or territory.

This full financial support is provided by he UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office and partner organisations. The scholarships are awarded to outstanding scholars with leadership potential.

For further information about the potential funding available through the Chevening Scholarship scheme, and for details of eligibility criteria and how to apply, please visit www.chevening.org/scholarships/.


Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Awards & Eligible Courses 

Aberystwyth University has been allocated 4 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship Awards for the 2023/24 academic year for the following courses: 

Intended beneficiaries: 

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are for candidates from eligible low and middle income Commonwealth countries, to undertake part-time taught Masters study with UK universities while remaining in their home countries.

Eligible Commonwealth Countries 

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

Application Process 

All Scholarship applications must be made via the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) Online Application System at https://fs29.formsite.com/m3nCYq/wfeafywiw0/index.html 

PLEASE NOTE: To be considered, you must apply for a place on the MSc (via the appropriate link at the top of this page) AND the scholarship via the link just above BEFORE 28 March 2023.

Global Wales Scholarship

We are delighted to be able to offer 3 x Global Wales Scholarships worth £10,000 for applicants to a Postgraduate Masters course at Aberystwyth University.

The scholarships are available to students from the countries of the European Union, India, USA and Vietnam and payment will be via a tuition fee discount.

These prestigious scholarships are funded through a partnership between the Welsh Government, Universities Wales, The British Council, and the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales.

Please see the Study in Wales website for full details of this exciting scheme and to complete the online Application Form. The deadline for submitting an application for the scholarship is 20 June 2021. You must have already applied to an Aberystwyth University Master's degree to be eligible for the scholarship. You must complete the application form in one sitting but you can view the questions you will need to answer here so that you can plan your responses in advance.

Please note:

  1. The Global Wales Scholarship can be held alongside any other awards you may be eligible to receive, including the international accommodation scholarship;
  2. Successful applicants will hold an undergraduate Bachelors degree with a minimum standard equivalent to a UK 2:1 Honours classification;
  3. Applicants must satisfy the University’s English Language requirements and meet the terms of their offer in full;
  4. The scholarship is for students following a full-time PG Masters programme and the £10,000 will be deducted from the relevant tuition fee. Applicants will be responsible for funding the remainder of the tuition fee and living costs;
  5. Award of this scholarship is also subject to the Eligibility Criteria as published on the Global Wales Scholarship website. It is important that you read these fully before submitting your application.

Stafford and Grad Plus Federal Loan Programs

(For students from the USA only)

Please visit our US Federal Loans page for relevant details.

US Fulbright Global Wales Postgraduate Award

Please note that this award is open for applicants from the USA only

This is a Master’s degree scholarship to study at one of the participating Welsh Universities (including Aberystwyth University), in any field. Top scholars are welcome to apply to the Global Wales Master’s award. It is a central award to any of the Welsh Universities, but the applicant should specify the proposed subject to study, proposed supervisor, and at which university.

Subject: This award is open to all disciplines

Award covers: Tuition waiver for a Master’s, plus living stipend of £13,450

Applications close early October for the following academic year.

For further details, including information about how to apply for this award, please visit: www.fulbright.org.uk/going-to-the-uk.

US Marshall Scholarships

(Students from the USA only)

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom. At least forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at a UK institution in any field of study. Each scholarship is held for two years.

For further information visit: http://www.marshallscholarship.org/

Snowdon Masters Scholarships

Snowdon Masters Scholarships have been designed to identify and accelerate talented disabled individuals through higher education.

These scholarships offer up to a maximum of £30,000 of funding per successful student to support them to join a UK based Masters programme.  The funding can include up to £15,000 towards Masters tuition fees, and a £15,000 p.a. allowance while studying.

Applications are open to both Home and International students.

Further information and details about how to apply (including the relevant Snowdon Master’s Scholarship application deadlines) can be found at https://www.disabilityinnovation.com/projects/snowdon-masters-scholarships.