Governance Department

Aberystwyth University’s Governance department was established in 2018 to:

  • Ensure that the institution’s governance structures – including the Council, the Senate, the University Executive, and their respective sub-committees or operational groups – are effective and comply with the requirements of our governing document and external requirements, while at the same time are flexible enough to enable key decisions to be taken at the right time to further the institution’s strategic aims; and
  • Support institutional compliance with legal and statutory duties, particularly with respect to information governance.

Governance Department



Helen Davies

Governance Officer

Gwawr Taylor

University Secretary and Director of Welsh Language

Information Governance



Julie Archer

Information Governance Manager

Beckie Sweeney

Information Governance Officer


As Clerk to Council, the University Secretary receives correspondence on behalf of independent members and liaises with them accordingly to arrange any response.

The University Secretary, can be contacted at the following address:

University Secretary
Aberystwyth University
Visualisation Centre
Penglais Campus
SY23 3BF

01970 622048

For file retrievals or deposits, please contact

For enquiries relating to Freedom of Information, please contact

For enquiries relating to the University's archival collections, please contact