Academic Excellence Scholarships

Academic Excellence Scholarships

£2,000 in your first year.

Academic Excellence Scholarships reward academic excellence prior to beginning at the university.

For 2020 entry, these Scholarships are now also available to Clearing applicants and those holding us as their Insurance choice!


How can I apply?

You don’t need to apply, if you have placed Aberystwyth as your Firm choice of university through UCAS and you achieve the following results then you will automatically receive the award:

  • Grades AAA at A-level*;
  • DDD in the BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma;
  • 34 points in the International Baccalaureate;
  • Additional UK/EU qualifications are also considered.

*Grade A in the Welsh Baccalaureate Advanced Diploma, to include the Advanced Skills Challenge Certificate, may be accepted in lieu of one of the A-level grades.


Please see here for a list of alternative accepted qualifications.


How will I be paid?

You will receive two equal payments directly into your bank account during your first year – the first at the start of December and the second at the start of March.


Please see the Scholarship Brochure for further details.