The Senate is “the academic authority of the University and shall be responsible to the Council for the academic functions of the University in teaching and research and the regulation of the academic interests of the students”. The Senate’s constitution, powers and functions are provided by Ordinances.

Senate Membership

For the 2022 - 2023 academic year, the membership of Senate is as follows:



Professor Elizabeth T Treasure

Pro Vice-Chancellors

Professor Neil Glasser (until 31.07.2025)
Dr Anwen Jones (until 31.07.2025)
Professor Qiang Shen (until 31.07.2025)
Professor Colin McInnes (until 30.09.2023)
Professor Tim Woods (until 31.07.2025)

Chair of Aberystwyth University Branch of Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol

Mr Jonathan Fry

Head of Graduate School

Professor Reyer Zwiggelaar


Academic Departmental Representatives

Dr Samuel Raybone, Art
Professor Hazel Davey, Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences
Professor Iain Donnison, Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences
Dr Otar Akanyeti, Computer Science
Dr Lucy Trotter, Education
Dr Alex Mangold, Modern Languages
Dr Sarah Davies, Geography and Earth Sciences
Professor Phillipp Schofield, History and Welsh History
Dr Aloysius Igboekwu, Business
Dr Patrick Finney, International Politics
Jen Phipps, Law and Criminology
Dr Alexander Pitchford, Mathematics
Dr Heather Norris, Psychology
Dr Ffion Jones, Theatre, Film and Television Studies
Professor Mererid Hopwood, Welsh and Celtic Studies
Professor Eleri Pryse, Physics
Dr Louise Marshall, English and Creative Writing
Dr Sarah Higgins, Information Studies

Student Members

Ash Sturrock, Union President (until 30.06.2023)
Dafi Jones, UMCA President (until 30.06.2023)
Elizabeth Manners, Academic Affairs Officer (until 30.06.2023)

Non-academic Representatives

Mr Tom Bates, Head of Facilities and Residential Operations (until 31.07.2025)
Ms Jackie Sayce, Project Co-ordinator and Business Development Officer (until 31.07.2025)


To assist members with their work on Aberystwyth University’s Senate, the University Secretary has produced a handbook bringing together key information from a number of sources. This document is continually updated as necessary, with the latest version always available via this web page.

Senate Member Handbook

Senate Minutes

The minutes of each Senate meeting are published on this page once they have been approved as a correct record of the meeting, usually at the next Senate meeting.

Session 2022/2023

21 June 2023 Agenda Minutes
03 May 2023 Agenda Minutes
02 February 2023 (Special Meeting) Agenda Minutes
23 November 2022 Agenda Minutes
20 September 2022 Agenda Minutes

Session 2021/2022

22 June 2022 Agenda Minutes
23 March 2022 Agenda Minutes
12 January 2022 (Special Senate) Agenda Minutes
17 November 2021 Agenda Minutes
22 September 2021 Agenda Minutes

Session 2020/2021

23 June 2021 Agenda Minutes
10 March 2021 Agenda Minutes
05 February 2021 (Special Senate) Agenda Minutes
18 November 2020 Agenda Minutes
30 September 2020 Agenda Minutes

Session 2019/2020

24 June 2020 Agenda Minutes
01 April 2020 Agenda Minutes
13 November 2019 Agenda Minutes
02 October 2019 Agenda Minutes

Session 2018/2019

12 June 2019 Agenda Minutes
20 May 2019 Agenda Minutes
27 March 2019 Agenda Minutes
14 November 2018 Agenda Minutes
10 October 2018 Agenda Minutes