Honorary Officers

In accordance with the Charter and Statutes, Aberystwyth University appoints a number of Honorary Officers.

Our current Honorary Officers are:



The Right Honourable Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd (until 31 December 2022)

  • Born in Carmarthen, Roger John Laugharne Thomas grew up in a Welsh-speaking family in Ystradgynlais.
  • Lord Thomas was appointed a Judge of the High Court of England and Wales in 1996 and was assigned to the Queen’s Bench Division and to the Commercial Court.
  • Lord Thomas is a Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales, an Honorary Fellow of Trinity Hall, Cambridge and a Fellow of Aberystwyth University, Bangor University, Cardiff University and Swansea University and an Honorary Doctor of Law of Cardiff Metropolitan University, the University of South Wales, the University of Wales and the University of the West of England


Miss Gwerfyl Pierce Jones MA (until 31 December 2019)

  • Gwerfyl Pierce Jones was born in Holyhead, Anglesey and was educated at Holyhead Secondary School and the University of North Wales, Bangor. She began her career as a lecturer in the Welsh Department at St David's University College, Lampeter.
  • She subsequently held posts in arts administration with the Welsh Arts Council, the Academi and the Welsh Books Council. She served as Director and chief executive of the Welsh Books Council from 1987 until her retirement in 2009.
  • She has served on numerous boards and committees, including the the British Council (Wales Committee), the National Library of Wales and the Welsh Language Board. She is the Chairman of the James Pantyfedwen Trust and chair of its Examining Committee. Gwerfyl is also chair of Theatr Genedlaethol Cymru. She became a Fellow of the University of Wales Lampeter in 2008.