Governance at Aberystwyth University

Aberystwyth University, founded in 1872, is a chartered institution whose Royal Charter was first awarded in 1889, and currently functions under its most recent Supplemental Royal Charter as revised in 2018. The University is also a registered charity (number 1145141).

The University meets its many obligations and accountabilities through the following governance structure:

  1. The Charter defines the objects, powers and officers of the University, and principles such as the power to teach and examine.
  2. The Statutes comprise the rules concerning statutory bodies, members and officers of the University institution.
  3. The Ordinances concern how the University is governed within the general framework of the Charter and Statutes.

The Council is the University’s supreme governing body while the Senate is responsible for academic governance. Both bodies are established by Charter.

Any proposals to revise the Charter and Statutes need approval from the Privy Council. However, Aberystwyth University’s Council can itself approve changes to the Ordinances.